Guide

How Permit Test Rules Differ by State

What a permit test actually is, dimension by dimension: question counts, pass marks, sectional rules, adult versions, and where you are allowed to sit it.

  • Published 2026-08-27
  • Updated 2026-09-26
  • Sources named and dated
A quiet suburban intersection with clear road markings
Every line of a permit test is set state by state, which is why one national answer never works.

By Vikas D

There is no national permit test, only fifty one specifications

Ask five people how many questions are on the permit test and you will get five answers, most of them right for somewhere other than where you live. There is no federal exam, no shared question bank and no agreed pass mark. Each jurisdiction writes its own paper, sets its own bar, and decides for itself whether a sixteen year old and a forty year old sit the same one.

That sounds like chaos, and it is not. Every state's test is the same six decisions with different values plugged in. Once you can name the six, reading your own agency's page stops being a hunt and becomes a checklist, and you can tell in about three minutes whether a number you read somewhere else applies to you.

This guide walks the six in order, with real values from agencies that publish them, and it is honest about the states that publish nothing. Where an agency does not say, that absence is reported rather than filled in, because a filled-in gap is how wrong numbers get into circulation in the first place.

What a permit test is made ofSix specification lines: how many questions are on the paper, how many must be right, any road sign rule, whether a shorter adult paper exists, how many attempts one fee covers, and how long you wait before a retake. Every line is set state by state.What a permit test is made ofQuestions on the paper20 to 50, depending on the stateNumber you must get rightUsually 70 to 80 percentRoad sign ruleA minimum inside the signs, or a gateAdult variantSome states set a shorter adult paperAttempts your fee coversOne, or several on one applicationWait before a retakeSame day in some states, days in othersEvery linehere is setstate by stateRead your ownstate page beforeyou trust a number
Six decisions make up a permit test. None of them are set nationally, and two of them are the ones people get wrong.

One: how long the paper is, which decides what one mistake costs

Among the states we have confirmed, the shortest paper is Pennsylvania's at 18 questions and the longest is 50, used by Florida, Indiana, Michigan, New Jersey, Utah and Wisconsin. Twenty five is the most common length. California is the outlier at 46 questions for applicants under 18.

Length is not just a measure of how long you will be sitting there. It sets the price of a single wrong answer. On New York's 20 question paper one mistake is five percent of the total. On Florida's 50 question paper it is two percent. That is why a short paper with a friendly looking percentage can be less forgiving than a long paper with a harsh one, and why comparing states on percentage alone is misleading.

It also changes how the last few minutes feel. On a 50 question paper there is room to be uncertain about a handful and still be comfortably clear. On an 18 or 20 question paper, three uncertain answers is most of your margin, and the psychological effect of that is real: people rush short papers because every question feels heavy.

SourcesPennDOT, Pennsylvania Driver's Manual, Testing, 18 questions, 15 correct to pass (checked 2026-08-27); New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, 50 questions, 40 correct to pass (checked 2026-08-27); New York State DMV, 20 questions, 14 correct to pass (checked 2026-08-27); Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, 50 questions, 40 correct to pass (checked 2026-08-27); California DMV, 46 questions for applicants under 18 (checked 2026-08-27)

Practice what this guide covers

Two: the pass mark, which runs from seventy percent to eighty eight

The spread here is much wider than most people assume, and it is the single most useful number to look up about your own state.

At the lenient end, Texas passes at 21 of 30 and New York at 14 of 20, both 70 percent, and Rhode Island passes at 28 of 40, also 70 percent. Massachusetts sits just above at 18 of 25, which is 72 percent. Oklahoma passes at 15 of 20 and Ohio at 30 of 40, both 75 percent. Eighty percent is the most common setting by a wide margin, and Florida's 40 of 50 is the version most people have heard of.

At the strict end the numbers get uncomfortable. Delaware requires 26 of 32, about 81 percent. Pennsylvania requires 15 of 18, about 83 percent. Idaho requires 34 of 40, which is 85 percent. Maryland requires 22 of 25, which is 88 percent and the highest bar we have confirmed anywhere.

Montana expresses the same idea from the other direction and is worth copying. Its rule is written as seven or fewer wrong on the combined signs and rules test. That is how a candidate actually experiences a paper, and translating your own state's percentage into a number of allowed misses is the most useful thirty seconds of preparation available.

How many questions you can miss, by test lengthFour bars, one per paper. New York needs 14 of 20, leaving 6 spare. Texas needs 21 of 30, leaving 9. California under 18 needs 38 of 46, leaving 8. Florida needs 40 of 50, leaving 10. New York also requires at least 2 of its 4 road sign questions.Each bar is one whole test paperNew York14 right6 spareof 20Texas21 right9 spareof 30California, under 1838 right8 spareof 46Florida40 right10 spareof 50New York adds a second bar: at least 2 of its 4 road sign questions, however the rest scores.
Four papers drawn as whole questions rather than percentages, which is the way the paper actually arrives in front of you.

SourcesTexas Department of Public Safety, 21 of 30 to pass (checked 2026-08-27); Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles, Rhode Island Driver's Manual, 28 of 40 to pass (checked 2026-08-28); Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles, 26 of 32 to pass (checked 2026-08-27); Idaho Transportation Department, Idaho Driver's Manual, 34 of 40 to pass (checked 2026-08-27); Administrative Rules of Montana 23.3.121, Road Signs and Road Rules, the bar is written as seven or fewer wrong on the combined signs and rules test (checked 2026-08-28)

Two twenty five question papers, four marks apart

Maryland and Massachusetts run papers of exactly the same length. Twenty five questions each, same format, same multiple choice screen. On paper they look like the same test with a different state seal on it.

Maryland passes at 22 of 25. Massachusetts passes at 18 of 25. That is 88 percent against 72 percent, and in whole questions it means Maryland allows three mistakes and Massachusetts allows seven. Not three against four. Three against seven, on identical papers.

Follow one candidate through both. Somebody who reliably answers about 85 percent of questions correctly, which is a good, solid level of preparation, expects around 21 correct out of 25. In Massachusetts that is a comfortable pass with three marks in hand. In Maryland it is a fail by one, and it would be a fail on most days rather than a piece of bad luck.

Nothing about that candidate's knowledge changed. What changed was a number published on an agency website, and it is the number that decides whether their level of preparation is enough. This is the entire argument for looking up your own state's pass mark before you decide you are ready: the question count tells you almost nothing on its own, and the percentage is doing all the work.

The practical takeaway is a piece of arithmetic. Take your state's pass mark, subtract it from the question count, and carry the answer around as the number of mistakes you are allowed. In Maryland that number is three. In Massachusetts it is seven. Those are different tests to prepare for, and they feel different from the first question onward.

SourcesMaryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration, 22 of 25 to pass (checked 2026-08-27); Massachusetts RMV, Learner's Permit Knowledge Test FAQs, 18 of 25 to pass (checked 2026-08-27)

Three: the rules that sit inside the paper rather than across it

This is the dimension that catches out people who did everything else right, because it breaks the assumption that a paper is one pile of questions with a single line drawn across it.

Some states score in sections. Georgia's 40 question exam is two sections and requires 15 of 20 in each. Indiana requires 80 percent or higher on each of its two components. Michigan requires both of its sections to be passed and publishes no overall percentage at all.

Others put a separate condition on the road sign questions specifically, and there are two flavors of that. A minimum is New York: at least 2 of its 4 sign questions correct, scored alongside everything else, so a strong paper carries a weak sign section as long as it clears the floor. North Carolina sets a similar minimum at 9 of 12. A gate is Virginia: all 10 road sign questions must be correct, plus 24 of the 30 general knowledge questions, so one wrong sign answer ends the attempt whatever the rest of the paper scored.

The difference between a minimum and a gate matters enormously for how you revise. Under a minimum, sign practice is insurance. Under a gate, sign practice is the whole test, because it is the only section where perfection is the requirement rather than a good score.

So find out which of the three your state runs before you plan anything: one total, sections, or a separate sign condition. It is written on the agency's own exam page, it takes two minutes, and it changes where the last two evenings of study should go.

SourcesGeorgia Department of Driver Services, 40 questions in two sections, 15 of 20 correct in each (checked 2026-08-27); Indiana BMV, Knowledge Exam, 80 percent or higher on each of two components (checked 2026-08-28); Michigan Department of State, New drivers (18 and older), both sections must be passed; no overall percentage published (checked 2026-08-27); New York State DMV, at least 2 of the 4 road sign questions correct, alongside 14 of 20 overall (checked 2026-08-27); 19A NCAC 03B .0201, Driver's License Examination, a minimum of 9 of 12 on the road sign questions (checked 2026-08-28); Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, all 10 road sign questions plus 24 of 30 general knowledge (checked 2026-08-27)

Four: your age can change the paper, not only the paperwork

In most states an adult and a teenager sit the same exam and differ only in what they had to do beforehand. In several, the exam itself is different, and reading the wrong version of your state's page is an easy way to prepare for a test you will not be given.

California is the clearest case. Applicants under 18 face 46 questions and need 38 correct. Adults face 36 questions and need 30 correct. Same agency, same building, two specifications. Utah runs a different kind of split, offering a 25 question open book paper passed at 20 for an applicant previously licensed elsewhere, which is a shorter and materially easier test than the 50 question version.

Texas changes the venue rather than the paper: most applicants under 25 take the knowledge exam through an approved driver education provider rather than at a driver license office. Florida changes the channel, allowing under 18s to take the exam online through an FLHSMV approved provider. Their department approved driver education course is required before learner license issuance, not before online testing. Wisconsin reverses that and offers its online test to applicants aged 17 and under, at 10 dollars a sitting, while the in person test at a customer service center is free.

Age can also change what happens after a failure. Virginia sets 15 days between attempts for applicants under 18 while allowing anyone 18 or older to test once a day. So two people in one family can fail the same paper on the same morning and face waits two weeks apart.

SourcesCalifornia DMV, 46 questions and 38 correct under 18; 36 questions and 30 correct at 18 and older (checked 2026-08-27); Utah Driver License Division, a 25 question open book variant passed at 20 for applicants previously licensed elsewhere (checked 2026-08-27); Texas Department of Public Safety, most applicants under 25 test through an approved driver education provider (checked 2026-08-27); Pinellas County Tax Collector, under 18s may take the knowledge exam online; approved driver education is required before learner license issuance under Fla. Stat. 322.1615 (checked 2026-09-26); Wisconsin Motorists' Handbook (BDS126), Wisconsin DMV, online testing for applicants aged 17 and under at $10 per test; free at a customer service center (checked 2026-08-27); Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, 15 days between attempts under 18; once per day at 18 and older (checked 2026-08-27)

Five: where you are allowed to sit it, which is a real variable

Home testing is now common enough that it is a genuine dimension of the specification rather than a curiosity, and it is not offered evenly. Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia all run some form of testing away from an office. Alaska runs one too, at 11.50 dollars per attempt. Iowa's is proctored. Minnesota's is delivered through approved third parties rather than by the agency itself.

Plenty of states do not offer it at all. Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Carolina and Wyoming were each confirmed as office only against their own agency page, and the comparison table carries those sources one by one. A home testing article written for somewhere else is simply not about your state.

Where it exists, the home version usually carries its own price and its own limits. Colorado charges 5 dollars plus a 1.50 dollar card processing fee. North Dakota charges 10 dollars per online attempt against 5 dollars in person. Arizona's at-home test is proctored through a parent or legal guardian's account rather than taken alone. And the online channel almost always caps attempts, which the office channel usually does not.

So treat this as three questions rather than one: is it available to me at all, what does it cost compared with the office, and how many tries does it allow before I am sent to an office anyway.

SourcesAlaska DMV Driver Manual, online testing available; $11.50 per attempt through KnowTo Drive Online (checked 2026-08-28); Iowa DOT, Instruction Permit Under Age 18, online testing available and proctored (checked 2026-08-28); Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Third-party online knowledge testing, Minnesota DPS moved off dps.mn.gov and the third party testing deep link no longer resolves, so this cites the agency Driver and Vehicle Services section instead. Rechecked 2026-09-10. (checked 2026-08-27); Colorado DMV, Permits and First-Time Driver License, $5 plus a $1.50 card processing fee for the at-home test (checked 2026-08-28); NDDOT, How to Apply for a Learner's Permit, $5.00 per in person attempt, $10.00 per online attempt (checked 2026-08-28); Arizona MVD, Permit Test (at Home or in an Office), at-home test proctored through a parent or legal guardian's AZ MVD Now account (checked 2026-08-27); Illinois Office of the Secretary of State, Driver Services, no online knowledge testing found (checked 2026-08-27)

Six: what one fee buys, and how long you wait after a miss

The last dimension is the one nobody reads until they need it, and by then the choice of when to book has already been made. Two things vary: how many attempts the money you already paid covers, and how long you must wait between them.

The range on both is large. California's application fee covers three attempts at the knowledge test. Illinois covers three within a one year window from the first attempt. Missouri allows two written attempts a day at no charge at all. Against that, New Hampshire requires ten calendar days between attempts, and the District of Columbia requires three full calendar days and blocks a seventh attempt for a year after six failures inside twelve months.

This dimension gets a guide of its own, because the interaction between the wait, the fee and the attempt cap is where the real planning happens. For the purposes of reading a specification, the thing to record is just two numbers: attempts included, and days between.

SourcesCalifornia DMV, the $46 application fee covers three knowledge test attempts (checked 2026-08-27); 92 Ill. Adm. Code 1030.86, Driver's License Testing, three attempts within a one year window from the first attempt, on one application fee (checked 2026-08-27); Missouri State Highway Patrol, Driver Examination FAQs, no charge for the written test, and up to two attempts per day until you pass (checked 2026-08-27); New Hampshire DMV Driver's Manual, ten calendar days between attempts for operator applicants (checked 2026-08-27); DC DMV, Knowledge Tests, three full calendar days between attempts; six failures in twelve months block a seventh for a year (checked 2026-08-27)

When the agency publishes nothing, and how to tell

The honest half of this subject is that a fair number of agencies do not publish the numbers people quote about them, and the numbers circulate anyway. Recording that absence is more useful than filling it.

Colorado publishes 80 percent as its official pass mark and does not publish a question count. Mississippi publishes 80 percent and no count. New Mexico publishes 70 percent or better and no count. North Carolina publishes 80 percent and no count. Michigan publishes that both sections must be passed and no percentage at all. The District of Columbia's own practice exam runs to 25 questions while no pass mark is published. North Dakota publishes no pass mark. Alabama's driver manual does not set out the format, and the Arkansas State Police study guide does not state a pass mark.

That is not agencies being unhelpful. Some of these numbers live in administrative rules rather than on a public page, and some are deliberately not published so that they can be adjusted. But it does mean that any site quoting a precise question count for Colorado or a precise pass mark for North Dakota is telling you something the agency has not said, and it is fair to ask where they got it.

Use Texas as your test of any source. Its pass mark is 21 of 30, which is 70 percent, confirmed with the Texas Department of Public Safety. If a page tells you Texas passes at 80 percent, it has copied a number from somewhere without checking it, and every other figure on that page deserves the same suspicion.

Three habits cover you. Prefer the agency's own page to any summary of it, including this one. Look for a date next to any number, because a figure with no date is a figure nobody has checked recently. And when the agency genuinely does not publish something, treat that as the answer rather than as a gap to be filled by whichever site is most confident.

SourcesColorado DMV Rule 8, 1 CCR 204-30, Class R Driver Testing and Education Program, 80 percent is the published pass mark; no question count is published (checked 2026-08-27); Mississippi Administrative Code, Title 31 Part 1, Rule 2.3, 80 percent to pass; no question count published (checked 2026-08-28); New Mexico MVD Driver Procedures Manual, Chapter 11, 70 percent or better to pass; no question count published (checked 2026-08-28); Official NCDMV: Driver License Tests, 80 percent to pass; no question count published (checked 2026-08-28); DC DMV, Knowledge Tests, the DC DMV practice knowledge test runs to 25 questions; no pass mark is published (checked 2026-08-27); NDDOT, How to Apply for a Learner's Permit, no pass mark published (checked 2026-08-28); ALEA Alabama Driver Manual (December 2024 edition), the manual does not set out the knowledge test format (checked 2026-08-28); Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Arkansas State Police), the study guide does not state a pass mark (checked 2026-08-28); Texas Department of Public Safety, 21 of 30 to pass, which is 70 percent (checked 2026-08-27)

Frequently asked

Which state has the hardest permit test?

By pass mark alone, Maryland is the strictest we have confirmed at 22 of 25, which is 88 percent and allows only three mistakes (Maryland MVA, verified 2026-08-27). By structure, Virginia is arguably harder, because every one of its 10 road sign questions must be correct alongside 24 of 30 general knowledge questions, so one sign error ends the attempt regardless of the rest (Virginia DMV, verified 2026-08-27).

Is the permit test the same in every state?

No, and not in any respect. The question count, the pass mark, whether the paper is scored in sections, whether adults sit a different version, whether you can take it at home and what a retake costs are all set jurisdiction by jurisdiction. Anything presented as a single national answer about the permit test is a summary of one state, usually California or Florida, applied to everywhere else.

How many questions can I get wrong?

Take your state's question count, subtract the pass mark, and that is your allowance. Maryland allows three of 25. Massachusetts allows seven of 25. Rhode Island allows twelve of 40. Then check whether your state adds a sectional or road sign condition, because in Virginia the allowance on the sign section is zero however generous the overall figure looks.

Why do different websites give different numbers for the same state?

Usually because one copied another without checking the agency. Texas is the common example: the verified figure is 21 of 30, or 70 percent (Texas DPS, verified 2026-08-27), and pages quoting 80 percent for Texas have taken a number from somewhere else. The defense is simple, which is to prefer a figure that names its source and carries the date it was checked.

My state's website does not give a question count. What should I do?

Take that at face value rather than looking for the number elsewhere. Colorado, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina and others publish a pass percentage without a count, and Michigan publishes neither. Prepare against the percentage, which is the part that is published, and if the count genuinely matters to you, ask the agency rather than a preparation site.

Do adults get an easier test?

Sometimes a shorter one, which is not the same thing. California gives adults 36 questions needing 30 correct against 46 needing 38 for under 18s, so the pass percentage barely moves (California DMV, verified 2026-08-27). Utah does offer something genuinely easier in one narrow case, a 25 question open book paper passed at 20 for applicants previously licensed elsewhere (Utah DLD, verified 2026-08-27).