All 51 jurisdictions
What does a permit and a license actually cost?
Getting licensed is never one payment, so this table keeps the permit, the license, the test fee and the REAL ID card apart.
Permit, license, test and REAL ID by state
| State | Permit fee | License fee | Knowledge test fee | REAL ID surcharge | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $36.25 to purchase the Learner License, plus the $5 knowledge test fee | $36.25 for a Class D license, plus the $5 test fee | $5 per knowledge test attempt, no checks accepted | Not confirmed | ALEA Document Requirements and Fees | 2026-08-28 |
| Alaska | $15 to issue, $5 to renew | $20 for a standard non-commercial license, $40 for a federally compliant (REAL ID) one | No separate written test fee at a DMV office; the road test costs $15 | $20 more than the standard fee across every credential type, for example $20 versus $40 for a non-commercial license | Alaska DMV Driver Manual | 2026-08-28 |
| Arizona | $7 | $10 for a Class D or M license issued with a written exam | No separate fee at an MVD office; Permit Test at Home carries a $7 application fee | None; the fee statute lists no separate Travel ID or REAL ID charge | Arizona Revised Statutes 28-3002 | 2026-08-28 |
| Arkansas | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $5 for each written examination, with no cap on how many attempts can be charged (Act 1289 of 2015) | Not confirmed | Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Arkansas State Police) | 2026-08-28 |
| California | Not confirmed | $46Original Class C driver license application fee | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | California DMV | 2026-08-28 |
| Colorado | $20.00 for a REAL ID instruction permit, $23.00 for a Standard one | $34.00 for a REAL ID driver license, $36.00 for a Standard one; the DMV lists this figure under 'renewal' and publishes no separate first-issuance license fee | $6.50 for the @Home online knowledge test ($5.00 test fee plus $1.50 card processing); the in-office written test has no separate first-attempt fee, but each written retest costs $11.50 and each driving skills (road) retest costs $15.40 | None. Colorado does not add a REAL ID surcharge; REAL ID credentials are actually priced lower than Standard ones ($20.00 vs $23.00 for the permit, $34.00 vs $36.00 for the license) | Colorado DMV, State DMV Fees | 2026-08-28 |
| Connecticut | $19Learner permit fee | Not confirmed | $40Covers vision and knowledge testing in one appointment | Not confirmed | Connecticut DMV | 2026-08-28 |
| Delaware | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| District of Columbia | $20 | $47 for a first-time or renewal driver license, valid 8 years; $20 for a Provisional Driver License | $10 for the knowledge test at a DC DMV service center, $39.95 at a test proctoring center, or $49.95 taken virtually; $10 for the road test itself | None published. DC DMV's fee schedule does not list a separate REAL ID surcharge on top of these figures. | DC DMV, Driver License Fees | 2026-08-28 |
| Florida | Not confirmed | $48Original license fee | $10Knowledge retest only, charged when the test has to be repeated | Not confirmed | Florida DHSMV | 2026-08-28 |
| Georgia | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| Hawaii | $5.00 in Honolulu (other counties set their own fee) | $20.00 for a first 4-year license, ages 17 through 24, in Honolulu; the Provisional License itself (ages 16 through 18) is $5.00 per year or fraction of a year | $2.00 for the in-person written test in Honolulu, or $12.00 total through the online KnowTo Drive route ($10 online transaction fee plus the $2.00 test fee); $10.00 for an oral test, available at the Kapalama and Wahiawa centers; $8.00 for the road test | Not confirmed | City and County of Honolulu, Driver's License Requirements | 2026-08-28 |
| Idaho | $21.50Driver Training Instruction Permit, paid at a county office and not refundable | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Idaho Transportation Department, Young Drivers page | 2026-08-27 |
| Illinois | $20Original instruction permit. $5 if the applicant already holds an Illinois license, $10 if they held one before | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Illinois Compiled Statutes, 625 ILCS 5/6-118 | 2026-08-27 |
| Indiana | $9.00 | $17.50 (under 75), $11.00 (75 to under 85), $7.00 (85 and over) | None listed separately; the Fee Chart shows no distinct knowledge or road test charge beyond the credential fee itself. | Not confirmed | Indiana BMV Fee Chart, revised 1/1/26 | 2026-08-28 |
| Iowa | $6.00 | $4.00 per year of validity for a noncommercial license other than Class D; $8.00 per year of validity for a noncommercial Class D license | No separate knowledge or road test fee found in statute. | Not confirmed | Iowa Code 321.191 | 2026-08-28 |
| Kansas | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| Kentucky | $15.00 ($18.00 REAL ID) | $21.50 for the full 4 year license ($24.00 REAL ID) | No separate testing fee found; the intermediate license itself costs $15.00 ($18.00 REAL ID). | $3.00 more for the permit and the intermediate license; $2.50 more for the full 4 year license | Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, DRIVE learner's permit page | 2026-08-28 |
| Louisiana | Not confirmed | $32.25Standard Class E license under age 70. Converting a permit to a license carries no extra charge | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles | 2026-08-28 |
| Maine | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $35Class C and motorcycle permit knowledge test fee | Not confirmed | Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles | 2026-08-28 |
| Maryland | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| Massachusetts | $30Learner's permit application fee | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Massachusetts RMV | 2026-08-28 |
| Michigan | $25.00 | Not confirmed | $6.50 online convenience fee for adult (18 and older) knowledge testing; free at a Secretary of State office. | Not confirmed | Michigan Department of State, New drivers (under 18) | 2026-08-28 |
| Minnesota | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| Mississippi | 7 dollars | 24 dollars for a four year Regular Class R license, 47 dollars for an eight year Class R license | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Mississippi Driver's License Manual | 2026-08-27 |
| Missouri | Not confirmed | $5Intermediate license, valid two years under state law | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Missouri Revised Statutes | 2026-08-28 |
| Montana | 5 dollars per year of validity, plus a 3 percent administrative fee applied to all Motor Vehicle Division transactions | 5 dollars per year of validity, plus a 3 percent administrative fee applied to all Motor Vehicle Division transactions | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Montana Code Annotated 61-5-111 | 2026-08-28 |
| Nebraska | 13 dollars total: an 8 dollar permit fee plus a 5 dollar security fee | Not confirmed | No separate fee for sitting the written test | Not confirmed | Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles | 2026-08-28 |
| Nevada | Not confirmed | $22.50License fee | $25Testing fee covering the written exam and the first skills test try | Not confirmed | Nevada DMV | 2026-08-28 |
| New Hampshire | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| New Jersey | $10Examination or student learner permit | $24Initial probationary license | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission | 2026-08-28 |
| New Mexico | $10.00 | $18.00 for a 4 year license or $34.00 for an 8 year license | Not confirmed | None found; MVD's fee page names only the $18 four year and $34 eight year license fees, with no added REAL ID line item. | New Mexico MVD, Apply for a Learner's Permit / How Much Does a Driver License Cost | 2026-08-28 |
| New York | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| North Carolina | $25.50 | $6.50 per year of validity (an 8 year Class C license for a driver 18 to 65 costs $52.00) | Not confirmed | None. A REAL ID costs the standard renewal fee, or $16.75 as a replacement if requested more than 6 months before the license expires. | Official NCDMV: Licenses & Fees | 2026-08-28 |
| North Dakota | $15.00 | $15.00 (same noncommercial permit or license fee) | $5.00 per attempt at a Driver License Site (one attempt per day), or $10.00 per attempt online through KnowTo Drive | Not confirmed | NDDOT, How to Apply for a Learner's Permit | 2026-08-28 |
| Ohio | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| Oklahoma | $42.50 | $25.00 (Intermediate License issuance fee) | No separate charge for the exam itself; $4.00 is added to your account for each failed written test, payable once you pass. | None. A REAL ID compliant credential costs the same as a standard one, per Service Oklahoma's REAL ID checklist page. | Service Oklahoma, Written Knowledge Test / Learner Permit / REAL ID Checklist | 2026-08-28 |
| Oregon | $30Original Class C instruction permit, valid two years | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Oregon DMV | 2026-08-28 |
| PennsylvaniaOne figure published: $45.50 for the initial permit and four year license. Single combined fee covering the learner's permit and the eventual license | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | PennDOT | 2026-08-28 |
| Rhode Island | $13.50 for the Limited Instruction Permit, under age 18. Includes the state's $3.50 technology surcharge. | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles, License Fees | 2026-08-28 |
| South Carolina | $2.50 for the beginner's permit, and to renew a Class D permit. | Not confirmed | $2.00 for each sitting of the knowledge test. | Not confirmed | SCDMV, Beginner's Permit | 2026-08-28 |
| South Dakota | $38 for the Instruction Permit. | $38 for the Driver License, the same flat fee as the permit. | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | South Dakota Department of Public Safety, Driver License/ID Card Fees | 2026-08-28 |
| Tennessee | $10.50Learner Permit for an under 18 applicant, before a county clerk charge | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security | 2026-08-28 |
| Texas | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No published source found | |
| Utah | $19Learner permit | $39Provisional license. Standard fees for drivers age 20 and under | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Utah Driver License Division | 2026-08-28 |
| Vermont | $24Learner permit, two year term | $39Junior license, two year term | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles | 2026-08-28 |
| Virginia | $3Learner's permit fee. The license is billed separately based on the term chosen | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles | 2026-08-28 |
| Washington | $35Cost to apply for the learner permit itself | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Washington State Department of Licensing | 2026-08-28 |
| West Virginia | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | $7.50Per knowledge test attempt for the Level 1 instruction permit | Not confirmed | West Virginia DMV | 2026-08-28 |
| Wisconsin | $35Instruction permit | Not confirmed | No chargeThe knowledge and signs test is free. The $15 fee is for the skills exam | Not confirmed | Wisconsin DOT | 2026-08-28 |
| Wyoming | $45 for a Class C permit ($40 base plus a $5 technology fee). | $45 for an original Class C license, the same fee as the permit. Renewal is $35. | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Wyoming Department of Transportation, Frequently Asked Questions | 2026-08-28 |
Amounts are quoted as the agency states them, conditions included, because the conditions are usually where the real cost hides. Where a state publishes one combined figure rather than a breakdown, it sits under the state name instead of being split across columns by us.
Four separate charges, kept apart
41 of 51 jurisdictions carry at least one confirmed figure. Every amount in the table above came off a licensing agency's own fee page or fee schedule and carries the date it was read. Where a cell says Not confirmed it links to a note naming what was looked for and where. The remaining 10 rows have no figure at all that we could source. A blank on this page never means free.
Why the same piece of plastic costs so differently
Licensing fees are not priced to reflect what the service costs to deliver. They are set in statute, and in most states they were last argued over in a legislature balancing a highway fund rather than pricing a transaction. That is why a learner permit is three dollars in Virginia and over forty in Oklahoma, and why the gap has nothing to do with how long the appointment takes.
Who collects it moves the total
The second thing that moves the total is who collects it. Several states run licensing through county clerks or approved third party testers who add their own charge on top of the state fee, so the figure on an agency page is a floor rather than a total. Tennessee's own wording says as much, and where an agency flags it the caveat is quoted in the cell.
The knowledge test fee is the one people miss
15 of the confirmed rows carry a knowledge test fee line, and not every one of them is a charge: several say plainly that there is no separate fee. Where there is one, a few charge again for every attempt. That turns a failed test from an inconvenience into a real cost, and it is the strongest practical argument for treating the practice tests here as free insurance. Alabama charges five dollars per attempt and takes no cheques. West Virginia charges seven fifty a go.
A handful of states run it the other way and bill only on success. Oklahoma adds four dollars to your account for each failed written test and collects the lot when you finally pass, which is gentler on the day and just as expensive in the end.
What the REAL ID column means
Federal rules let a state issue two kinds of card: one that meets the REAL ID standard and can be used at airport security and in federal buildings, and one that cannot. Some states charge more for the compliant version, some charge exactly the same, and most publish nothing on the point at all. Only 8 jurisdictions state the answer clearly enough to record, which is why that column is the emptiest one here.
We do not fill it by inference. A fee page listing a single license price is not evidence that both versions cost that price, and treating it as evidence would put a number in front of you that nobody at the agency ever wrote down.
The states that publish one figure and no more
20 agencies publish a single headline amount rather than a schedule. Sometimes that figure genuinely covers everything, as in Pennsylvania, where one payment covers the learner permit and the four year license together. Sometimes it covers only the first step. Where the agency's wording makes clear which column an amount belongs in, it is placed there. Where it does not, the figure sits under the state name in the agency's own words and the columns stay open.
Where the record is incomplete
One note per jurisdiction with an empty cell, saying what was looked for. These are the rows to help with: an official fee page for any of them and the figure goes in, with a new date against it.
Alabama
The ALEA fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Arkansas
The ASP fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a permit fee, a license fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
California
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Connecticut
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Delaware
No fee figure could be confirmed on Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Florida
FLHSMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Georgia
No fee figure could be confirmed on Georgia Department of Driver Services pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Hawaii
The HDOT fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Idaho
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Illinois
SOS publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Indiana
The BMV fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Iowa
The Iowa DOT fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Kansas
No fee figure could be confirmed on Kansas Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Louisiana
OMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Maine
BMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Maryland
No fee figure could be confirmed on Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Massachusetts
RMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Michigan
The SOS fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a license fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Minnesota
No fee figure could be confirmed on Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services Division pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Mississippi
The DPS fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a knowledge test fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Missouri
DOR publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Montana
The MVD fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a knowledge test fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Nebraska
The DMV fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a license fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Nevada
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
New Hampshire
No fee figure could be confirmed on New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
New Jersey
MVC publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
New Mexico
The MVD fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a knowledge test fee.
New York
No fee figure could be confirmed on New York Department of Motor Vehicles pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
North Carolina
The NCDMV fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a knowledge test fee.
North Dakota
The NDDOT fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Ohio
No fee figure could be confirmed on Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Oregon
Oregon DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Pennsylvania
PennDOT publishes one combined figure rather than a breakdown, so it appears under the state name instead of being split across columns by us.
Rhode Island
The RI DMV fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a license fee, a knowledge test fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
South Carolina
The SCDMV fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a license fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
South Dakota
The SD DPS fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a knowledge test fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Tennessee
DOSHS publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Texas
No fee figure could be confirmed on Texas Department of Public Safety pages. Amounts for this state circulate widely on test preparation sites, and none of them traces back to a published fee schedule we could read, so this row stays empty.
Utah
DLD publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Vermont
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Virginia
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Washington
DOL publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
West Virginia
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Wisconsin
DMV publishes the figure shown and nothing else in this row. There is no full fee schedule on the pages we read, so the remaining columns stay open rather than being filled from a third party site.
Wyoming
The WYDOT fee page we read publishes the rest of this row but does not state a knowledge test fee, whether a REAL ID card costs any more.
Common questions about permit and license fees
How much does a learner permit cost?
There is no national answer. Confirmed permit fees on this page run from three dollars to well over forty, and the figure your state publishes may or may not include the test. Fees are set in statute or by agency rule, so the only reliable number is the one on your own agency's fee page, which each row links to.
Do you have to pay again to retake the knowledge test?
In several states yes. Some charge a fee for every attempt, some add the charge to a balance you settle when you finally pass, and some make no separate charge for the exam at all. Where an agency states the answer it is in the knowledge test column, in the agency's own wording.
Does a REAL ID license cost more than a standard one?
It depends on the state, and most agencies publish nothing on the point. Where an agency says the compliant card costs the same, or costs more, that is what the last column shows. Where the column is empty it means the fee page we read is silent, not that the two cost the same.
Why is a fee cell empty when the state clearly charges something?
Because nobody at that agency publishes the figure anywhere we could read it. Amounts for those states circulate on test preparation sites without a source, and repeating an unsourced fee is how a table like this becomes wrong without anyone noticing. The note under the table names what was missing for each one.
The rest of the licensing picture
Retake rules by state
How long you wait after a failed knowledge test, how many attempts you get, and whether it costs again.
Permit test format in every state
Question counts, pass marks and road sign rules for all 51 jurisdictions.
Credentials without proof of lawful status
Which jurisdictions issue one, under which law, and what the card says.
How every figure is verified
What counts as a source here, and what this site refuses to publish at all.