Arkansas State Police Driver Examination Section

Arkansas written test scoring: 20 of 25, what is charged

See the exact Arkansas scoring rules, what the knowledge test covers, and the state details that change how you take it.

The scoring, nothing rounded off

People say written test, the ASP says knowledge test

Same exam. You answer on a screen, and what decides your day is the scoring below.

Questions25Official Arkansas Driver License Practice Test (Arkansas State Police), verified 2026-08-28
Correct to pass2020 of 25 (80%), a pass mark the ASP does not publish. Official Arkansas Driver License Practice Test (Arkansas State Police), verified 2026-08-28

What the questions cover

Everything comes back to the Arkansas Code Title 27, Transportation: signals and signs, right of way, speed rules, passing and lane use, parking, alcohol limits, and the licensing rules for new drivers. Multiple choice, one correct answer each.

What Arkansas does differently

Read off the ASP's own page and dated

The official practice test is the only published format

Arkansas State Police runs a free official practice test, linked from its driver examination pages, and it is the one place the agency puts a number on anything. Each attempt is built from 25 questions chosen at random out of a pool taken from the actual driver license knowledge test and the study guide, and the quiz regenerates itself every time you sit it. That is why 25 is the length used here. It is the closest official signal available rather than a confirmed length for the real exam, which the ASP does not state. The same study guide carries a warning that the agency has no association with third party practice test sites, which is worth reading next to any site quoting a firm Arkansas question count or pass mark.

Official Arkansas Driver License Practice Test (Arkansas State Police), read 2026-08-28

What is charged, and what is not published

The Arkansas Driver License Study Guide, September 2024 printing, was read end to end on 28 August 2026. It confirms the $5 charged for each written examination under Act 1289 of 2015, with no limit on how many attempts can be charged, and it names no waiting period between attempts, so a retest is a matter of booking rather than serving out a wait. It does not state the number of questions on the real knowledge exam or the score needed to pass, and it sets no required number of supervised driving hours either. The knowledge and skills exams are given in person at Arkansas State Police testing sites by appointment; the agency's free quiz and its AR Driver Testing app are practice tools, not the certifying exam.

Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Arkansas State Police), read 2026-08-28
How to prepare

Retrieval sticks, rereading does not

See how to study for the permit test before your next practice run.